Q & A Time

Perspective and Prejudices had tagged me to take up these five questions and participate in the Sisterhood of the World Q&A. I have just modified the questions a bit to suit my needs 🙂

  1. One beauty product you would recommend to all your girlfriends that you always carry around:

Hard to pick between these two: Kajal and Lip Balm

Kajal ( or eye-pencil) for that instant ‘did not wake up and just come’ look and my argan oil lip balm because if I dont have it , you would be watching a pathetic looking, lip peeling woman which no amount of make up  can help. So I guess the winner is my lip balm.

2. Three books I love and everyone must read: 

a. The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins/ Big Little lies by Lianne Moriarty 2015 books, both were #1 New York Times Bestsellers. i do not want to write reviews here but I enjoyed reading them both. Not your feel good kind of stories that make you happy. They are deep, a bit dark, make you think. If you had followed my blog from the beginning you would know that I advocate for Domestic Violence (DV). So, the only thing I am going to reveal is that the baseline of these two books was DV and it was heart wrenching to know that it still exists on a large scale even in developed countries and the bright (kindof) side of it being millions of people are reading it and hopefully they stay safe and out of it.

b. Harry Potter series: Well, I am not going to reason it out. (Enid Blyton’s books also were fighting for this space.)

c. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks: Her cells changed science and many peoples lives. Must read by any science student and by everyone else too.

3. Favorite online shopping site/s: 

Two  sites I frequent every week are Door to Door Organics for my groceries and Graze for snacks.

You would see me browsing any shop that sends an email with FREE SHIPPING subject line. Unlike others, I don’t shop much on Amazon. I rarely buy online though I browse a lot.

4. Favorite phone app: 

Instagram and WordPress, I have been most active on them of late. And I seem to get most notifications from either. Facebook and Twitter seem a thing of the past.

5. One dish you’re really good at love making and its recipe: 

I enjoy cooking and I love making authentic south-Indian dishes like molagootal, kootu, rasam etc. In my experimentation with healthy options , one thing I loved making (and eating) was Indian Style Couscous upma.

Recipe: (I have never attempted to write a recipe before so pardon me and let me know if you need clearer instructions)

Boil water in a large pan, add couscous and let it stand for about 5-8 mins. You have to make sure it doesn’t get overcooked , so just fluff it and add some butter/oil and pinch of salt when cooking it. Once it is cooked keep it aside. (or you can cook in two pans at the same time) I like the pearl couscous which resembles javvarisi or sabudana and not the other kind.

In the other pan, add oil, toor dal, ginger, curry leaves, pepper, all vegetables you like cut into small pieces. Fry the vegetables (add required amount of water and salt) and cook until done. Finally add the cooked couscous and cook it for couple more minutes and garnish with cilantro.

Another version: I love making couscous salad where I cook couscous, make a black bean salad with black beans, corn, bell peppers, tomtoes, onions, cilantro and lime juice. Mix both with desired amount of salt and pepper. You could even crush some tortilla chips on top for a crunch.

Okay! Now that  I am done with my turn, I have to nominate few female (I beleive!) bloggers to answer the same or similar questions of their choice. Here you go:

  1. The Thought Card
  2. Stephellaneous
  3. Thinkingua
  4. Shalijay
  5. Cybernag
  6. Kripa’s HodgePodge

Tell me what you think of my answers and please feel free to take up the challenge even if I did not tag you 🙂

7 thoughts on “Q & A Time

  1. I haven’t heard of these books before. Except Harry Potter and Enid blyton. Should look them up! I tried couscous once before and didn’t like the taste of it. Is there a specific name for the javarisi-kind that you use? I think I’ve just tasted the regular one.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great answers! And this looks fun (and kinda challenging for me) – so I think Ima do it! Thank you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m only going to make one comment about one specific answer here. I love that The Immortal Life Of Henrietta Lacks was one of your book choices! I have told so many people about it at this point that it is nice to see it on someone else’s list!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

