It’s an all new series!

Hello everyone!

December has always been my favorite month(and Birthday month!). With my city facing one of the most disastrous floods of all time, it hasn’t been one this year. I still am doing whatever I can to help in the rehabilitation of Chennai. Anyways, life has to move on right? So.. what’s new?

wp-1449962582430.jpeg

Wedding, shaadi, kalyanam!!!!! It is less than a hundred days for my wedding (yaay me!!) and I am super excited! It is happening in Chennai and I hope my city feels better by then. And with a 98 days to go, I am starting a wedding series that will document my wedding planning experiences, advice, ideas, maybe even some vendor showcase.

We aren’t religious or ceremonial . So when we started planning our wedding , we knew it was going to be different, something that can be criticized(!) and hopefully also something that would give  others some ideas/inspirations too.

How different is it going to be?

I wanted it to mean something, not just for the two of us but for everyone involved in it and also as stress-free as possible. You can ask me “Jan, would’t the easiest be a register marriage or a court wedding?” Unfortunately , no! Turning a big fat Indian wedding to a court wedding is wishful thinking. Possible, but even I could not support that. So, what did we come up with? We thought we could steal the ‘Think global, eat local’- so we wanted something that appeals to everyone but maybe with people in our community. Weddings mean a lot of money and spending. We are trying to have it as simple and as local as possible. At the same time, we are working on spending this money for things and people we really care for.

These were the few ideas I came up with:

  1. Let’s promote some kind of giving as part of the wedding.                       – In lieu of gifts we are donating all of it to help 200 children get education.
  2. Let’s source things to people we know as much as possible and help our community.                                                                                                      – As a start, our invitation designer is a friend who is very young and very talented and we are looking for more such people to be a part of it.
  3. Let’s be as environmental-friendly as possible.                                            -We are working on recycling , eco-friendly gifts etc. It is WIP so please share your ideas.

I am excited about this series. I hope you are too 🙂

Please share your ideas with me. Also, are you someone who wants to be a part of my wedding? E.g. A jewelry designer? Gift maker? Make up artist? Wedding blogger? I consider the blogger community like my local community. So please reach out to me jansdoodles@gmail.com if you would like to be a part of this series. Even if I can’t hire you, I can feature you on my blog 🙂

Also, follow my Facebook page for faster updates.

14 thoughts on “It’s an all new series!

  1. […] had a mixed year. I started off great with my wedding series and lots of guest […]

    Like

  2. Congratulations Janini, on the engagement. I really look forward to your next steps.
    And I must also applaud the noble ideas that you’ve thought of, great job!
    All the best 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m looking forward to reading! I’m hooked on weddings (just had mine in September) and will be sharing my “lessons learned” on my blog. Will be fun to re-live the planning process through your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. First things first, congratualations! This for sure, will be one of the most exciting rides ever. Looking forward to the rest of the posts in this series. Love the ‘twisted’ thinking brought to the Big Fat Indian Wedding.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Congratulations!! Looking forward to seeing this new series. I love your ideas of making the wedding about giving back and involving the community… I feel like most Indian weddings are usually more of just all glamour and show so it’s really nice to see someone with this fresh take on marriage 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks a lot Neeti. Yes, it has been very hard to change those ideas even with people close to me. So I hope I am able to do how much ever I can and also learn from this experience 🙂 I look forward to your inputs as well as I start posting more about my journey the next few months.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. while im not getting married anytime soon, i love some of the idea you mentioned esp with donating gifts and recycling

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Again this is such a great idea!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

