Liebster Award and many things about me !

Hello hello!

I have been nominated by this lovely lady Carol of Writeful Mind for the Liebster award. Carol is a blogger, writer, life coach, runs an outreach program for abuse survivors and you can know more about her here. Carol is a wonderful admin of our blogger group. I know she wants to atleast publish one book this year and I want to use this post to wish her the best for it 🙂 


I have seen such award badges on different blogs and have wondered about them. But I used to assume them to like the vicious cycle of gift-giving. But, just like how you beam when you get a gift (even though you tell people you don’t care for them) I felt very happy when I saw my blog had been nominated. Thanks a lot Carol 🙂

So what is a Liebster award?

I learnt from here  that it is an award given by one blogger to another/others and Liebster has German origins which means dearest, sweetest, kindest, nicest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, welcome, sweetheart and boyfriend .

Liebster Award Rules:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you and link back to their blog.
  2. Display the Liebster Award on your blog.
  3. Share 11 random facts about yourself.
  4. Answer the 11 questions you were asked.
  5. Nominate 11 bloggers with less than 200 followers for the Award and have them answer 11 questions.
  6. Let the other bloggers know you’ve nominated them.
  7. Copy the rules into your post.

11 random facts about myself:

  1. I used to be called ‘Wall baby’ in kindergarten since I used to stand holding on to the wall and keep crying till my mom came to pick me up during the first few weeks.
  2. I am from South India and I have never traveled to North India.
  3. I can speak 4 languages fluently and understand 3 more.
  4. I got upgraded from economy to Business class during my first ever flight to London. (And it was awesome!!)
  5. I have never tasted meat.
  6. I used to have an autograph book that I carried around all the time until 10th grade and I have got autographs from all my favorite musicians.
  7. My first date was in IHOP since I wanted to have breakfast for dinner and yes, I am marrying the same person who took me there 🙂
  8. I have an unofficial name at home which is long and has 8 syllables.
  9. I love watching F.R.I.E.N.D.S and have watched all ten seasons more than ten times.
  10. I have appeared on an Indian reality TV show.
  11. I have never watched thriller or horror movies.

11 questions answered

  1. If you could meet one famous person, who would it be? Dalai lama
  2. List 5 songs that would appear on the soundtrack of your high school years.
  • Mamma mia by Abba
  • Rhimjim from the movie June R
  • Thaaye Yasoda from Morning Raga
  • Netru Illadha maatram from Pudhiya Mugam
  • Pi’s Lullaby from the Life of Pi

3. If you could tell your younger self 5 things that you feel are important to know for the transition to adulthood, what would they be?

  • Trust your instincts
  • There is no concept of just marrying the first person you date  {Pertains to Indian dating}
  • Do not blindly accept things in the name of religion or culture. Question things that do not seem right to you.
  • Having an opinion that does not resonate with people around you is completely fine
  • The most important when you are a 25 year old woman is standing on your own feet and not marriage or children or a “responsible husband” to take care of you.

4. What would your ideal day consist of?

Eating in different places all day

5. What is your go-to website when you’re bored and need cheering up?

Of late is the WordPress reader

6. Where is your ideal place to write?

In my room, curled up under my comforter with just my hands sticking out to type.

7. What’s your most prized possession and who gave it to you {or where did you get it}?

A food thermometer by one of my favorite chefs from a favorite restaurant. 

8. What’s the one thing on your bucket list that you absolutely have to do?

A road trip with my girlfriends.

9. Are you still in touch with the first friend you ever made, outside of your family?

No

10. Is there a teacher who taught you something that still sticks with you even now? If so, who’s the teacher and what was the lesson?

The mantra of my Physics teacher in school was PMYOB- Please mind your own business. I try to follow it whenever needed.

11. If someone made a movie about you and your life, what genre would it be and why?

It will be a Romantic Comedy. Because I love the genre and I have a story for it 🙂 

My Nominees:

  1. Suzi/ Blue Car Painted Green 
  2. Akilya/ Sneaky Peeks
  3. Samosas and Sunshine
  4. Sanjeev/ My Kaleidoscope
  5. Vid Dev/ The Pensieve
  6. Soundarya/ Thinkingua
  7. Jane/ Jane runs wild
  8. Monkey Mind
  9. Precious/ Fifty Shades of Prei
  10. Perspectives and Prejudices
  11. Gokoulane/ Inspirations around me

To the nominees: Congratulations! I hope you accept the award and write a post. I do understand if this award or the content does not relate to your blog or if you simply would not like to accept it. I would highly appreciate if you acknowledge this post even if you do not accept it 🙂 Thanks & happy blogging! Please find your questions below.

My 11 questions to you

1. If you could move to any part of the world right now, where would you go and why?
2. What’s your favourite season of the year? And why?
3.  Which three novels would you recommend to everybody you meet because you couldn’t put them down?
4. What is your favourite way to recover from a long and bad day?
5. Coffe, tea or…?
6. Name one thing you taught yourself to do.
7. What’s the one thing on your bucket list that you absolutely have to do?

8. Is there a teacher who taught you something that still sticks with you even now? If so, who’s the teacher and what was the lesson?

9. If someone made a movie about you and your life, what genre would it be and why?

10. Is there something you love to do, although most people dislike it?
11. What do you see in front of you right now?
Thank you for reading this long post. I hope you enjoyed reading it as much as I enjoyed typing it out. Have a great week ahead!
8 thoughts on “Liebster Award and many things about me !

  1. […] Picture Credits: dartmooryarns.com and jansdoodlesv2.wordpress.com […]

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the nominations Janani. I accept it and will come up with a post on my blog soon..

    Cheers
    Soundarya

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey I just wanted to say that I loved reading your blog! You truly are pretty amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I want to hear about number 10!

    Like

  5. What a great acceptance post! Thank you so much for all the lovely things you said about me. You’re a sweet lady and I’m glad we have connected. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thanks for the nominations Janani. I accept it and will put up a post on my blog soon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

