The Weekend of Firsts!

I had changed my outfit thrice, checked my hair a few times and was all set to leave an hour earlier than required. It was a mix of excitement, a tiny bit of nervousness, loads of butterflies in my stomach. I was going to meet someone for the very first time. Someone with whom I had had some amazing conversations, someone whose calls brought a smile, someone I felt I had fallen for (or risen for), someone with whom I connected on different levels, someone who just felt right. We had been introduced by a common friend and had been chatting away for  a few months and finally our schedules matched to meet. I was supposed to meet him at the airport and check him into a hotel. I couldn’t eat. I killed time by going to the university store, bought a card and a stuffed mascot.

It was a 2 hour train ride to the airport and you can imagine what my over analytic, over thinking brain was going through. Is he the one? How is this weekend going to be? Is a weekend enough to make decisions? What if he is a psychopath? (Sorry R!) Should I have brought change of clothes just in case? What if I get heart broken? What happens next if it does work? I texted my friend with all this. She reassured that either way I was going to be fine and that with the progress in the last few months she seemed to think it was going to work.

wp-1455208184728.jpeg

The first picture 🙂

At the airport: I was getting hungry and bought some munchkins to snack on. The plane had arrived. As I went up the escalator , he had already gone down (classic right?). I came back down looking at him LIVE for the first time with loads of butterflies. Our eyes met, he had an amazing smile showing off his dimple and came to give me a tightttt hug as soon as I got off the elevator. My doubts, nervousness, second guessing everything I should say vanished with that first touch. And so had my shyness.

We checked in to the hotel and it was almost mid night.

“So what do you want to do?” he asked.

“Ermm..I am hungry. Can we go to IHoP ? ”

The nearest one was a 30 min drive. I didn’t care. I was famished with all the waiting and excitement. So we went on our first mid-night drive. I ordered (didn’t really notice if he even ordered!!) and started gobbling my food as soon as it was served and when I looked up after a few minutes, he was looking at me, he plate almost untouched.

“Aren’t you eating?”

“No, I am not really hungry.”

“Emm..okay! But I am hungry and I am going to finish this okay??”

“Go ahead! And don’t worry about me.”

So I did finish my dinner or I should say an early breakfast with also a little guilt that the poor guy who had traveled from the other coast and who drove so far didn’t really eat anything.With other things looming in my head I never realized how I had ‘demanded’ a person meeting me for the first time to take me to a place in the middle of the night because I needed food. As you might already know, I love food and this incident for R was a glimpse into his future. He now drives to the places I want to try and many a time just looks at me eat (with oodles of love ) 😛 And many times we remind each other of when I wanted an omelette in the middle of the night (or the first date as I call it) and smirk!

And as we get all set to leave for the wedding. I have already listed out the places I want to go and eat in Chennai during the trip 😀

Continuing the story..We went back and spent the night chatting away for the most part. And we had an amazing first weekend together and by the end of it some decisions had been made 😉 And one of the important ones was that wherever we were I needed food every few hours. Being jet-lagged he had lost his appetite and also kept forgetting I needed replenishment. So there I was reminding that it was time for breakfast, lunch and dinner all three days 😀

We have had many more weekends, well planned and more eventful but our first still ranks the top.

It was our Weekend of Firsts 🙂

 

8 thoughts on “The Weekend of Firsts!

  1. Aww.. this was such a cute read 🙂 He must be really fond of you to have come down all the way to meet you.
    And as you said, firsts always top the list 🙂
    Good luck! For the contest and for life. Hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Susmitha Palakurthy

    Great read Janani! really happy that you both 🙂 I still remember my first meeting with my R (6 years back), in fact every single detail is so clear in my memory as though it happened yesterday, there are things you forget over time and also memories you carry on till the end of life and it’s important that we don’t lose those 🙂 Good luck as you are going to start an amazing new phase in your life soon, I wish you tons of happiness 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nice one, Jan!! “Omlette in the middle of the night” that’s awesome 🙂 Really happy for you guys!! Chennaiiiii… so many good places to eat. Have a wonderful time back home..

    Like

  4. This was such a sweet read Janani! You both are very sweet. Our story was different, but I remember those nervous moments and the sacrifices we made for each other (especially early on) to make the other person happy. So I very much related to your story here, especially about the food. Wonderful post!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Haha! Nice first Jan. I too love food and it gets me going. And it works against me these days with both hubby and daughter knows how to get things done from me. Nevertheless, I love food.

    Come to Chennai, connect and yeah, will tell you those places you just should not miss.

    Best
    Katie

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

