The Six Month Milestone!

img_20160918_190540.jpg

Six months since the big day. Good food in our bellies, henna stained hands, decorated with colorful flowers, animated conversations and bright smiles,  surrounded by the people we love. The day I had to wake up at 2 AM to get decked up for the ceremonies that started at 5 AM 😛 It definitely was a very memorable day !

In the long four hour ceremony, I still remember that moment when I felt “married”. It wasn’t when my dad gave me away to the new family or when R tied the sacred knots. It was when the priest asked us to look into the other person’s eyes, after walking around the fire seven times. As we looked into each other’s eyes, the priest reminded us about love and our promise to be there for each other. It was the moment when it hit me , all teared up I said my vows silently, promising R my everything. Our words had always been love, compassion, commitment, acceptance and independence.

Show each other love like there is no tomorrow.

Being compassionate at all times to each other.

Staying committed in the relationship come what may.

Accepting each other as we are.

And acknowledging each other’s independence and personal space.

And last one is mine –Hope.

Anyway, SIX MONTHS!! How has it been?  I want to say time flew..but it didn’t. It does not, I am sure, for anyone in a long-distance relationship. We are in a phase of waiting, waiting to talk to your SO who is in a different time-zone. Waiting for the weekend to see the other person on a screen, waiting for those rare weekends where you get to spend time in-person. We kept convincing ourselves that marriage changes nothing, joking about still being bachelors. It is true, marriage did not change anything outward but a lot inside. We are still bachelors but with our hearts far away.

Distance has only made us grow more fond of each other. The efforts we make to make the best out of each call and each trip. As we keep our negative emotions in check and work towards keeping each other(and ourselves) happy. Hoping that this phase would serve as a reminder and that we appreciate each other better when we live together and see each other everyday.

0Q9A5296.jpg

Candid moment-Subject to copyright

We don’t know what the future has in store for us. Maybe I will write about living together when we complete a year, maybe not. But all I know is, either way I am really really grateful to have R in my life. To have found someone with whom you share a relationship that just feels right. No drama, doubts or insecurity attached.  🙂 I do look forward to many more milestones and phases and curious about how it is going to pan out.

P.S: The above picture is special, done by an old Chinese artist in the streets of New York City. I had been super excited to get it done. And was upset when it got destroyed a couple of weeks ago. I have been trying hard to “save” memories of us. And this was a reminder that we can’t save every (material) memory from a relationship.

What are your memories about your six month milestone? Do share and leave a comment if you stop by 🙂

 

 

17 thoughts on “The Six Month Milestone!

  1. […] if you have been following my blog you would have noticed my posts about my long distance relationship with R. I finally made up my mind and decided to quit everything and […]

    Like

  2. Sweet. Absence does make the heart grow fonder in my opinion. When he gets on my nerves, which they all do at times, I remember those months apart and I am grateful not to be apart.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a lovely post. I strongly believe that distance makes the heart grow fonder. I have experienced it first hand and can vouch for it. At our 6 month milestone, we had a lot of fun. For us, it did flew by quick.
    Wishing you both togetherness and more love in many many years to come.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Happy Anniversary! Continued blessings for a wonderful life together.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Congratulations Jan! I can’t imagine how it must feel not being able to see your husband everyday, especially since you’re still newlyweds. But marriage isn’t easy and it takes commitment to work through the tough times. I’m glad you have it and hope you and R will be together in person soon! Cute photos!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Honestly at 6 months we were quite getting on each other’s nerves – hard to adjust when you’re 41 and 51 respectively. But we had all our major showdowns in Year 1 and it’s going to be 10 years for us soon.
    Long distance relationships are always hard, but you both seem to be working it out beautifully.
    Stay bless, Jan.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Aww….that’s a sweet love story and an adorable pic….When I got married, even I was away from my husband for around six months…..he was in US and I was in India….we would talk on the phone, there was no possibility to video chat as internet connection was very poor on my end…..but the wait had its own joy…..I wish you happy times together…..:)

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Priya Arunachalam

    Beautifully written Jan 🙂 My sixth month anniversary was a special one with a lot of surprises from my hubby as presented me a heart shaped gold pendant in the midnight. That was something that I never ever expected and was really really surprising 🙂 later the day was followed by a surprise visit to music academy for vatsan’s play and then a relaxing dinner at Zaica.. It’s not only the surprises that kept the day memorable but also the very feeling that you have spent an amazing six months with the love of your life and you are looking forward for more such days to come is more than any happy feeling in this world.. Cheers to marriage.. Cheers to love 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Six months! In October, it will be 29 years since I first saw Vaani …. in Mylapore, at Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan, but it seems like yesterday! For me, she is always the like the one I met yesterday.

    The true secret is to keep the romance, the longing, the companionship going…as if today will be the last day on the planet, Then it will always seem like yesterday! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Our six month was more or less tied in with my 40th birthday so we kind of rolled them together when we celebrated that . I wish I could give you details but I um…don’t remember much other than having a great time in a bar near the Port Authority with the country band we had arranged to play! But as to you two, congratulations on the first of many milestones to come! You two look truly happy together. 😄

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

