A for Asafoetida – #AtoZChallenge

A

Life of a Stay-at-Home-Wife (SAHW)- Yes, I have said it out loud and it took me 5 months to say it. I could say I am in between jobs or unemployed but the truth is at this point in time I am a SAHW. I am enjoying this phase and taking baby steps (in accepting it) yet it was something I never thought I would be ..ever..EVER! So, here you go.. 30 days of different elements of my life 🙂

Asafoetida – Perungayam in Tamil, Hing in Hindi and Inguva in Telugu

Asafoetida is a spice that intrigued me growing up. Unlike most other spices which my mom had in whole, dry and powdered form, this was only in powdered form and only from the white dabba (see picture below). And I use the same brand and box now 😀

It is the dried latex (gum oleoresin) exuded from the rhizome or tap root of several species of Ferula, a perennial herb that grows 1 to 1.5 m (3.3 to 4.9 ft) tall. It has an interesting flavor – it is pungent by itself and super-aromatic when added to a dish. I use it almost every day for all south Indian dishes I make. What I heard growing up was that it aids digestion and reduces flatulence.

So here ends the first day of #AtoZChallaenge. A spice used in the everyday life of this SAHW 🙂

wp-1491060681684.jpg

5 thoughts on “A for Asafoetida – #AtoZChallenge

  1. Everyday is a new challenge for SAHW. I was a stay at home mother till a year ago and I can relate to your feeling too. Do anything but don’t let this affect you in the wrong way! Learn new things and keep writing.

    Here is my post http://snehabhattacharjee.blogspot.in/2017/04/anxiety-atozchallenge.html
    do share your thoughts ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve never cooked with it. But I did taste it and I’m not sure if it had gone bad. It’d good to know that it has medicinal uses.

    Like

  3. I am SAHW as well but with choice. I don’t use this spice that much but have the same dabba in my pantry 🙂

    Photo blogger

    Like

  4. SAHW – I am in a similar situation. I know the weirdness of it! Happy to be a-z blogging with you!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Good for you for embracing who you are right now. Enjoy being a SAHW and take advantage of the time!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

