E for Equanimity #AtoZChallenge

Equanimity – Such a beautiful word and definition. This is one of my favorite words at this time and a way of life I hope for. I first got familiarized with this word in my yoga class. My yoga guru would pray for us to attain equanimity at the end of every class. Happiness, contentment used to be my words and not equanimity. Over time I have realized happiness is not my word. 

Happiness isn’t as good as what we think and probably not what we should be chasing. Life isn’t filled with happy moments. We rather need to develop an attitude to deal with what life throws at us. A friend of mine once told me how something happened in her life, which gave her immense happiness that she didn’t know how to handle it. She ended up quietening down, isolated herself from everyone for a few hours  and that made a huge impact on her life. That is when she reached her “equanimity” moment. I have read the same about people dealing similarly with grief. 

In the last few months I have increasingly been conscious about this. Any change in life has it’s effects. The same is with uprooting yourself to be with your loved one. As much as it gave me happiness, I have also had moments of uncertainty, sadness, anger, self-doubt, expectation from the other person ( “I moved for you”) moments, loneliness in the new place etc. As you read my posts or you follow me on Instagram (www.instagram.com/zanyajan) you can observe how I have been overcoming and dealing with this change and these emotions. 

So this is a work in progress and I hope to be mindful about dealing with various moments of life. 

Let me know your take on it 🙂 
 

One thought on “E for Equanimity #AtoZChallenge

  1. I agree, beautiful word. Nice post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

